Products I Can’t Live Without (Or At Least Don’t Want To)

20120103-111818.jpg

Over the holidays, I finally had a few days to clean out, reorganize and play with new features on some of my favorite products. This gave me some more clarity on how I can, and want, to use these products moving forward to best fit my needs, and I’m already seeing the benefits.

This has inspired me to write a series on products I can’t live without and how I use them.

Here is an initial list of the products, which I’ll likely be tweaking as we go.

One thing is becoming clear to me: there are just too many great social networks for one person to manage alone (e.g. Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, LinkedIn, Foursquare, Instagram… the list goes on). While enthusiasm for social media, mobile and apps is still growing, I wouldn’t be surprised if fatigue starts to set in trying to keep up. Soon, there will be a need for a platform that aggregates your feeds and communications. Some might argue that need already exists. After all, there are plenty of SMMS (social media management system) products out there (e.g. Hootsuite, TweetDeck, Spredfast). But, these were really built for the professional and enterprise in mind. The UX of these products clearly reflects that. I think that there is now a need for a product that aggregates your feeds and communications in a more consumer-friendly experience. I’ll touch on this in more depth in the individual posts.

If you have any thoughts the above listed products or think there are some I should add, please share.

3 thoughts on “Products I Can’t Live Without (Or At Least Don’t Want To)

  1. Have you tried If this than that, IFTTT.Com

    I love it. I call it smart automation. I can set up tasks like sending favorited tweets to Linkedin as status updates. It makes life so much easier, I am waiting for them to add in Stumble Upon but they are already connected to other services like Gmail.

    1. Hi Susan –

      Thanks for the suggestion; I’m not familiar with the product, but I’ll definitely test it out. Certainly sounds like something I could use!

      -D

Leave a Reply

